19 Districts in Ontario

Find Yours

Add a logo here

District 09

Member Societies from

Dunnville, Fort Erie, Grimsby, Lincoln, Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Pelham, Port Colborne, Ridgeway, St. Catharines, Smithville, Thorold, Welland

About Us

District 9 comprises 13 societies, largely in the beautiful Niagara Peninsula (one in Haldimand County). We are blessed with a generally moderate climate and a hardiness zone of 6 a or b. Our geographic area is bounded in the east by the Niagara River and goes lake-to-lake from Lake Erie to Lake Ontario and west to Grimsby and Smithville. The peninsula is also home to a range of floral greenhouses, the Niagara Parks Commission Botanical Gardens and world-renowned School of Horticulture, as well as many wineries taking advantage of the grape-growing microclimate and soils, e.g., the Beamsville Bench.
In the midst of this horticultural bounty, societies in the District work on a variety of gardening and educational initiatives that encourage biodiversity, sustainability, and environmental enhancement and protection. In the process, they are beautifying their communities and having fun doing it. This is a long tradition in this area. In the last few years, two societies celebrated 100 year anniversaries, 4 have marked 90 years, and in 2017 St Catharines celebrated its 160th year —longer than Confederation!

District Email

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Phone Number

(905) 227-7885

Mailing Address

46 Ormond St. S. Thorold, ON
Thorold L2V 1Y4
Map It

Contact Names
Title First/Last Name Email Phone
Director Leslie Daniels ldaniels28@cogeco.ca 905-227-7885
Secretary Maggie Corner maggiecorner@gmail.com 905-894-8237
Treasurer Alan Daniels jalandaniels@hotmail.com 905-227-7885
Assistant Director Amber Cuthbertson amcuthbertson@hotmail.com 289-929-2438
Assistant Director Correspondance & Webmaster Susan Lusted pastd9director@gmail.com 905-945-0027
Past Director Susan Lusted d94oha@gmail.com 905-945-0027

<== Go To Society List