ContactSite MapOHA Log-in
GardenOntario
       
 
Online Newsletter
 
 
In My Garden
 
 
In My Neighbourhood
 
 
Education
 
 
Info & Resources
 
 
Links

Print

Custom Search

Ontario Horticultural Association on Facebook

Follow gardenontario on Twitter

 
Home > Gardenshare > Links

Links

Associate Members

Brueckner Rhododendron Gardens: brueckner-rhododendron-gardens.blogspot.com/
Located in Mississauga.

Hamilton & Burlington Rose Society: www.gardenontario.org/site.php/hbrs
The Rose Society promotes interest in, and love for, the care and cultivation of roses. The Society is associated with the RBG and the Canadian Rose Society. For information please e-mail the Secretary at hbrosesociety@sympatico.ca

Huronia Rose Society: www.huroniarose.usethis.com

Ontario Hosta Society: www.ontariohostasociety.com

Ottawa Botanical Garden Society: www.ottawagarden.ca/

Toronto Cactus & Succulent Club: torontocactus.tripod.com
Founded in 1977, the TCSC is a specialized group for anyone with an interest in cactus and other succulent plants. Eight meetings per year are held on the 3rd Tuesday of the month (7:30 p.m.) at The Toronto Botanical Garden.

Associations and Nonprofits

Adopt-A-Pond Programme: www.torontozoo.ca/
Toronto Zoo 361A Old Finch Ave. Scarborough, ON M1B 5K7E-mail: aap@TorontoZoo.ca Telephone: 416-392-5999 Fax: 416-392-4979

Calgary Horticultural Society: www.calhort.org/

Canadian Horticultural Therapy Association: www.chta.ca/
The Canadian Horticultural Therapy Association (CHTA) promotes the use of horticultural therapy and therapeutic horticulture for diverse populations and in a wide variety of settings. The CHTA is a non-profit organization.

Canadian Peony Society: www.peony.ca/

Canadian Rose Society: www.canadianrosesociety.org/

Canadian Wildlife Federation: www.cwf-fcf.org/
350 Michael Cowpland Drive,Kanata, ONK2M 2W1Phone: (800) 563-WILD (9453) or (613) 599-9594 (Ottawa Area)Fax: (613) 599-4428Email: contact@cwf-fcf.org

Charity Village: www.charityvillage.com/cv/research/index.asp
Charity Village is Canada's supersite for the nonprofit sector --- 3,000 pages of news, jobs, information and resources for executives, staffers, donors, and volunteers. If philanthropy and volunteerism are part of your world, this is your place.

City Farmer: www.cityfarmer.org/
Horticultural Information about city farms and gardens in Canada and other spots in the world. Urban Agricultural notes prepared by City Farmer, Canada's office of Urban Agriculture, Vancouver, B.C.

Composting Council of Canada: www.compost.org/
16 Northumberland Street, Toronto, ON M6H 1P7Ph: (416) 535-0240;1-877-571-GROW(4769)Fax: (416) 536-9892E-mail: ccc@compost.org

Conservation Council of Ontario: www.greenontario.org/
Conservation Council of Ontario is a province wide association of organizations and individuals whose mission is to promote conservation solutions, raise public awareness and build a strong province wide conservation movement

EcoAction Teams Program - a program of Earth Day Canada: www.ecoactionteams.ca/
503-111 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario Canada M5V 2H1. Tel: 416-599-1991ext. 106 Outside of Toronto: 1-888-28-EARTH (32784) ext. 106. Fax: (416) 599-3100 Email: info@ecoactionteams.ca

EcoKids & Earth Day Canada - a program of Earth Day Canada: www.earthday.ca/

Green Communities Canada: greencommunities.nonprofitwebsites.ca/
Green Communities Canada is a national association of community organizations working with homeowners, businesses, governments and communities to reduce our impact on the environment.

Horticulture Centre of the Pacific: www.hcp.bc.ca/

Just Food: www.justfood.ca
Just Food's mission is to work towards a vibrant, just and sustainable food system in the Ottawa region*.

Landscape Ontario Horticultural Trades Association: www.landscapeontario.com/
7856 Fifth Line South, RR4,Milton, ON L9T 2X8Toll Free: (800) 265-5656Phone: (905) 875-1805Fax: (905) 875-3942

Master Gardeners of Ontario: www.mgoi.ca
Ontario's premier source of in depth sustainable gardening information.

Nova Scotia Association of Garden Clubs: www.nsagc.com/

Organic Landscape Alliance: www.organiclandscape.org/
The Wicket 777 Bay Street, P.O. Box 46009, Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2P6toll free: 1 866 824 7685 e-mail: Fax: 1-866-824-7685info@organiclandscape.org

Perennial Plant Association: www.perennialplant.org/

Rain Garden Tour: www.raingardentour.ca/
Rain gardens - How to make them and pictures of rain gardens in Ontario and across Canada.

Royal Botanical Gardens: www.rbg.ca/
Hamilton, Ontario

Seeds of Diversity: www.seeds.ca/
A group of gardeners and farmers who grow heritage varieties of plants and share them with one another.

Society of Ontario Nut Growers: www.songonline.ca/
SONG offers a manual on growing nut trees in Ontario as well as all of the past issues of "The Nuttery" newsletter.

Toronto Botanical Garden: www.torontobotanicalgarden.ca

Wm. Saunders Rose Society: www3.sympatico.ca/wm.saundersrose/

Competitions

Communities in Bloom: www.communitiesinbloom.ca/
Which is the "bloomingest" town or city in Canada? The Communities In Bloom program is municipal competition that compares like-sized municipalities.

Educational Institutions

Durham College: www.durhamcollege.ca/CFF
Durham College offers programs in horticulture and farming in their new Centre for Food, a state-of-the-art facility designed to provide students with the learning experience of a lifetime.

Guelph Turfgrass Institute: www.guelphturfgrass.ca/

Ridgetown College - University of Guelph: www.ridgetownc.uoguelph.ca/
Degree, Diploma, and Certificate programs in landscaping and horticulture, offered at the University of Guelph's southwestern regional campus, Ridgetown College

University of Guelph: www.uoguelph.ca/

Gardening Shows

Peterborough Garden Show: www.peterboroughgardens.ca/Showhome.html

Success with Gardening Show: www.home-show.net/successfulgardening/index.html
The 17th Annual Success with Gardening Show will be held March 19-22, 2009 at the Toronto International Centre, 6900 Airport Road. The OHA holds an Annual Plant & Flower Competition with over 350 entries in design and horticulture.

Gardening web site

Gardenaway - garden planning and design tool.: gardenaway.com
Online tools built in Ontario to help gardeners with garden design and planning. Large, constantly growing plant database with a powerful search engine. Find the best plant ideas for your design, garden and lifestyle needs.

Government Agencies

Environment Canada: www.ec.gc.ca/
Comprehensive source for environmental info and weather 70 Cremazie St., Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H3 Telephone: 819-997-2800 or 1-800-668-6767 Fax: 819-994-1412 TTY: 819-994-0736 (Teletype for the hearing impaired) E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Ministere de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation de l'Ontario: www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/index.html

Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food: www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/index.html

Trillium Foundation of Ontario: www.trilliumfoundation.org/
The Ontario Trillium Foundation, an agency of the Ministry of Culture, receives annually $100 million of government funding generated through Ontario's charity casino initiative.

Growers and Seed Companies

Blossom Hill Nursery: www.blossomhillnursery.com/
Blossom Hill Nursery, near Peterborough specializes in award-winning delphiniums and peonies. We hybridize our own hardy Delphinium elatum from the British strain. We also grow 330+ varieties of peonies including species, heritage and modern herbaceous.

Gardens North: www.gardensnorth.com/

Gardens Plus: www.gardensplus.ca/
Peterborough nursery (with online shopping), specializing in Hostas, Daylilies, Low Maintenance Perennials

Heritage Perennials: www.perennials.com/

Hortico: www.hortico.com/
Wholesale roses, perennials, trees and shrubs

Richters Herbs: www.richters.com/

Seedy Saturdays: http://www.seeds.ca/ev/events.php

Publications

Canadian Gardening Magazine: canadiangardening.com

Ontario Gardener Magazine: www.localgardener.net
Look for OHA's colour ad in their magazine devoted to Ontario gardens and gardeners.

Trees native to Eastern Ontario database: www.ofnc.ca/ofgac
The native trees database is searchable and sortable by name, water and light requirements as well as salt tolerance. Notes are available on each type of tree.


 

© 2004 Ontario Horticultural Association
Privacy Statement | E-mail the Webmaster.