ContactSite MapOHA Log-in
GardenOntario
       
 
Online Newsletter
 
 
In My Neighbourhood
 
 
Education
 
 
Info & Resources
 
 
Links

Print

Custom Search

Ontario Horticultural Association on Facebook

Follow gardenontario on Twitter

 
Home > Gardenshare > Links

Links

Associate Members

Brueckner Rhododendron Gardens: www.brueckner-rhododendron-gardens.blogspot.com
This 18 acre (7.19 hectare) garden in Mississauga honours a long time Mississauga resident and master rhododendron hybridizer, the late Dr. Joseph Brueckner.

Hamilton & Burlington Rose Society: www.gardenontario.org/site.php/hbrs
The Rose Society promotes interest in, and love for, the care and cultivation of roses. The Society is associated with the RBG and the Canadian Rose Society.

Huronia Rose Society: www.huroniarose.usethis.com
Located in Barrie, Ontario, The Huronia Rose Society is the only Rose Society north of Toronto, being in the Georgian Bay Area of the Great Lakes.

Ontario Hosta Society: www.ontariohostasociety.com
The website of the Ontario Hosta Society and membership information.

Toronto Cactus & Succulent Club: www.torontocactus.org
Founded in 1977, the TCSC is a specialized group for anyone with an interest in cactus and other succulent plants. Eight meetings per year are held on the 3rd Tuesday of the month (7:30 p.m.) at The Toronto Botanical Garden.

Associations and Nonprofits

Adopt-A-Pond Programme: www.torontozoo.com/adoptapond
The Adopt-A-Pond Wetland Conservation Programme provides educators, students and community groups with stewardship resources and educational opportunities to protect, restore and conserve wetland habitats and biodiversity.

Calgary Horticultural Society: www.calhort.org
The Calgary Horticultural Society is a charity dedicated to cultivating Calgary's gardening community. A network of more than 100 community gardens and 5,000 members makes it one of largest and most active gardening organizations.

Canadian Horticultural Therapy Association: www.chta.ca
The Canadian Horticultural Therapy Association (CHTA) promotes the use of horticultural therapy and therapeutic horticulture for diverse populations and in a wide variety of settings. The CHTA is a non-profit organization.

Canadian Peony Society: www.peony.ca
CPS promotes the growing, improving and use of peonies in the garden and for home decoration. There are currently over 300 members (from Newfoundland to British Columbia) in the Society; membership is open to anyone with an interest in peonies.

Canadian Wildlife Federation: www.cwf-fcf.org
The Canadian Wildlife Federation is dedicated to ensuring an appreciation of our natural world and a lasting legacy of healthy wildlife and habitat.

Canadian Wildlife Federation: Wild about Gardening: www.cwf-fcf.org/en/discover-wildlife/gardening/
Chock full of gardening info.

City Farmer: www.cityfarmer.org
Horticultural Information about city farms and gardens in Canada and other spots in the world. Urban Agricultural notes prepared by City Farmer, Canada's office of Urban Agriculture, Vancouver, B.C.

Composting Council of Canada: www.compost.org
The Compost Council of Canada is a national non-profit, member-driven organization with a charter to advocate and advance organics residuals recycling and compost use. It serves as the central resource and network for the compost industry in Canada.

Conservation Council of Ontario: www.weconserve.ca
The Conservation Council of Ontario is a provincial association of conservation leaders working together to support the voluntary transition to a conserver society in Ontario.

EcoKids & Earth Day Canada - a program of Earth Day Canada: www.earthday.ca/kids
Earth Day Canada’s EcoKids is Canada’s leading K-8 environmental education program.

Green Communities Canada: www.greencommunities.nonprofitwebsites.ca
Green Communities Canada is a national association of community organizations working with homeowners, businesses, governments and communities to reduce our impact on the environment.

Just Food: www.justfood.ca
Just Food's mission is to work towards a vibrant, just and sustainable food system in the Ottawa region.

Landscape Ontario Horticultural Trades Association: www.landscapeontario.com
Landscape Ontario Horticultural Trades Association (LOHTA) is a vibrant association representing over 2000 horticultural professionals.

LEAF: Local Enhancement & Appreciation of Forests: www.yourleaf.org
LEAF is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to the protection and improvement of the urban forest and engages citizens in urban forest stewardship through planting, education and training.

Master Gardeners of Ontario: www.mgoi.ca
Master Gardeners of Ontario Inc. is an independent non-profit organization dedicated to helping home gardeners.

Nova Scotia Association of Garden Clubs: www.nsagc.com
The Nova Scotia Association of Garden Clubs (NSAGC) is made up of garden clubs and horticultural societies from all areas of Nova Scotia.

Orchid Society of Royal Botanical Gardens: www.osrbg.ca
The Orchid Society of the Royal Botanical Gardens were established in 1981. The orchid Society exists for the education of members and conservation of orchids.

Plantwatch: www.naturewatch.ca/english/plantwatch
PlantWatch is part of the national NatureWatch series of volunteer monitoring programs designed to help identify ecological changes that may be affecting our environment.

Rain Garden Tour: www.raingardentour.ca
Rain gardens - How to make them and pictures of rain gardens in Ontario and across Canada.

Roadsides: www.roadsides.caroldunk.com
Roadsides is a program that encourages you to create habitat for native bees and other pollinators along roadsides, on cloverleafs, on unused urban land and in your garden. The little habitats created by volunteers like you are called Pollinator Patches.

Royal Botanical Gardens: www.rbg.ca
Royal Botanical Gardens (RBG) is the largest botanical garden in Canada, a National Historic Site, and registered charitable organization with a mandate to bring together people, plants and nature. Hamilton, Ontario.

Seeds of Diversity: www.seeds.ca
Seeds of Diversity is a Canadian volunteer organization that conserves the biodiversity and traditional knowledge of food crops and garden plants.

Society of Ontario Nut Growers: www.songonline.ca
SONG offers a manual on growing nut trees in Ontario as well as all of the past issues of "The Nuttery" newsletter.

Toronto Botanical Garden: www.torontobotanicalgarden.ca
The Toronto Botanical Garden offers an array of 17 award-winning themed gardens spanning nearly four acres, designed to educate and inspire.

Toronto Entomologists' Association: www.ontarioinsects.org
A non-profit educational and scientific organization formed to promote interest in insects.

Wm. Saunders Rose Society: www3.sympatico.ca/wm.saundersrose
Serving Rose Growers in South West Central Ontario.

Blogs

Blotanical: www.blotanical.com
Blog directory. Where garden blogs bloom.

Extension.org Master Gardener Blog: www.blogs.extension.org/mastergardener/

Garden Myths: www.gardenmyths.com
Garden Myths is a blog dedicated to unearthing the truth about gardening.

JackieSchuknecht.com: www.jackieschuknecht.com/blog
Nature Images and more.

There Blooms a Garden: www.therebloomsagarden.com
This website is intended to support gardeners who plant and tend in this northerly region of Ontario or in any northern locale.

Toronto Gardens: www.torontogardens.blogspot.ca
Two sisters blog about gardens.

Competitions

Communities in Bloom: www.communitiesinbloom.ca
Which is the "bloomingest" town or city in Canada? The Communities In Bloom program is municipal competition that compares like-sized municipalities.

Educational Institutions

Dalhousie University: www.dal.ca/faculty/agriculture/extended-learning/programs-courses/master-gardener-training.html
Master Gardener online training.

Durham College: www.durhamcollege.ca/CFF
Durham College offers programs in horticulture and farming in their new Centre for Food, a state-of-the-art facility designed to provide students with the learning experience of a lifetime.

Extension.org: www.extension.org/pages/9925/state-and-provincial-master-gardener-programs:-extension-and-affiliated-program-listings#.u9fxy1bcne0
Extensive U.S. site learning site. State and Provincial Master Gardener Programs: Extension and Affiliated Program Listings

Guelph Turfgrass Institute: www.guelphturfgrass.ca
Conducts research and provides information on turfgrass production and management to members of the Canadian turfgrass industry. Part of the University of Guelph.

Niagara Parks School of Horticulture: www.niagaraparks.com/school-of-horticulture/
The Niagara Parks School of Horticulture prepares graduates with the practical, theoretical and advanced technical skills that are critical for managing the complexity found in today's horticulture industry

Ridgetown College - University of Guelph: www.ridgetownc.uoguelph.ca
Degree, Diploma, and Certificate programs in landscaping and horticulture, offered at the University of Guelph's southwestern regional campus, Ridgetown College

University of Guelph Horticulture: www.guelphhort.com
Online courses in horticulture, landscape and turf.

University of Missouri Extension: www.extension.missouri.edu/main/displaycategory.aspx?c=2
Excellent gardening information website.

Gardening Shows

Peterborough Garden Show: www.peterboroughgardens.ca/Showhome.html

Success with Gardening Show: www.home-show.net/successfulgardening

Gardening Websites

Beneficial Insects 101: www.planetnatural.com/beneficial-insects-101
Aphids, cutworms, mealybugs and other pests are preying on your vegetables and flowers. Who’s an organic gardener going to turn to for help? Forget nasty, expensive chemicals, enlist the aid of “good bugs”.

BloomIQ.com: www.bloomiq.com
BloomIQ.com is a free, online tool that helps both novice and experienced gardeners design beautiful pots, planters, and gardens.

Canada Plants: www.canadaplants.ca
World Plants contains an ever-growing database of plants and plant related information that has been garnered through experience in the garden and landscape and through my travels around the world.

Evergreen Native Plant Database: www.nativeplants.evergreen.ca
The Native Plant Database is an easy-to-use resource for gardeners across Canada. Browse for native trees, shrubs, wildflowers, grasses, aquatic and vine species by regions across Canada

Gardenaway - garden planning and design tool.: www.gardenaway.com
Online tools built in Ontario to help gardeners with garden design and planning. Large, constantly growing plant database with a powerful search engine. Find the best plant ideas for your design, garden and lifestyle needs.

Haliburton County Garlic Growers Assoc.: www.haliburtongarlic.ca
Garlic Information, Events, Recipes & More!

Lily Leaf Beetle Tracker: www.lilybeetletracker.weebly.com
The main reason for this site is to gather information on the beetle’s distribution as it spreads throughout North America.

Ontario Ferns: www.ontarioferns.com
This website is all about ferns that grow in Ontario (Canada). If you're not from Ontario, don't go away! Most of the ferns featured on this website grow elsewhere in eastern North America, and many grow elsewhere in the world.

Ontario Grasses: www.ontariograsses.com
This website is all about grasses, sedges & rushes that grow in Ontario (Canada). If you're not from Ontario, don't go away! Most of the plants featured on this website grow elsewhere in eastern North America, and many grow elsewhere in the world.

Ontario Insects: www.ontarioinsects.com
Your "online field guide" to Ontario's insects.

Ontario Trees and Shrubs: www.ontariotrees.com
This website is all about trees and shrubs that grow in Ontario (Canada).

Ontario Wildflowers: www.ontariowildflowers.com
Your "online field guide" to Ontario's wildflowers

Toronto Balconies Bloom: www.torontobalconiesbloom.ca
A volunteer project to inspire and support residents with balconies to create thriving balcony gardens.

Weedinfo.ca: www.weedinfo.ca
Weed database.

Government Agencies

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada: www.agr.gc.ca/eng
The activities of the Department range from the farmer to the consumer, from the farm to global markets, through all phases of producing, processing and marketing of farm, food and bio-based products.

Canada's Plant Hardiness Site: www.planthardiness.gc.ca
This site explores the relationship between plants and climate across Canada.

Environment Canada: www.ec.gc.ca
Comprehensive source for environmental info and weather.

Ministere de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation de l'Ontario: www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french

Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food: www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english

Ontario Weeds - Weed Gallery: www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/crops/facts/ontweeds/weedgal.htm

The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010: www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/crops/gardbk/ghtoc.html
The Gardener's Handbook is a reference guide for home gardeners that provides useful tips on growing vegetables, fruit, ornamental plants and lawns.

Trillium Foundation of Ontario: www.trilliumfoundation.org
The Ontario Trillium Foundation, an agency of the Ministry of Culture, receives annually $100 million of government funding generated through Ontario's charity casino initiative.

Growers and Seed Companies

Blossom Hill Nursery: www.blossomhillnursery.com
Blossom Hill Nursery, near Peterborough specializes in award-winning delphiniums and peonies. They hybridize their own hardy Delphinium elatum from the British strain and also grow 330+ varieties of peonies.

Gardens North: www.gardensnorth.com
Primary business is the sale of hardy native and exotic seeds, both herbaceous and woody

Gardens Plus: www.gardensplus.ca
Peterborough nursery (with online shopping), specializing in Hostas, Daylilies, Low Maintenance Perennials.

Heritage Perennials: www.perennials.com
Perennial resource website run by Valleybrook Gardens.

Hortico: www.hortico.com
Wholesale roses, perennials, trees and shrubs

Richters Herbs: www.richters.com
Herb plants, seeds, books, dried herbs and more – Richters is your best source for everything herbal!

Seedy Saturdays: www.seeds.ca/ev/events.php
This is a listing of events for those interested in plant biodiversity, heritage gardening, organic gardening, and seeds.

Publications

Canadian Gardening Magazine: www.canadiangardening.com
Think of CanadianGardening.com as a perfect companion to the magazine and an essential gardening tool—right up there with your trusty spade and pruners.

Ontario Gardener Magazine: www.localgardener.net
Look for OHA's colour ad in their magazine devoted to Ontario gardens and gardeners.

Trees native to Eastern Ontario database: www.ofnc.ca/ofgac
The native trees database is searchable and sortable by name, water and light requirements as well as salt tolerance. Notes are available on each type of tree.


 

© 2004 Ontario Horticultural Association
Privacy Statement | E-mail the Webmaster.